The Royal School for Deaf Children

Margate

Scroll pointer image

Explore the The Royal School for Deaf Children timeline

1792X

England’s first public institution for deaf children known as ‘London Asylum for the Education of the Deaf and Dumb Children of the Poor’ was started in London in 1792.

1792

1876X

The School opens a branch in Margate and eventually moves its whole operation from London to the seaside town, so that residents can benefit from the fresh air. The School has an imposing redbrick building with turrets.

1876

1950X

The Gothic tower at the School used to be scaled by students, as a rite of passage, quite unknown to the staff.  They would leave their mark inside the tower.  One terrible night, in 1950 a student fell from the tower, trying to complete this challenge.  Even at this stage, no one knew the tower had been climbed by the students for this purpose until the old building was being dismantled, the tower was taken down and their graffiti was found inside it.


Discover more

1950

The Royal School for Deaf Children was founded in 1792, the first public institution to provide a free education for this group.  It opened a branch in Margate in 1876 and moved entirely from London to Margate in 1905, so pupils could benefit from the sea air.

Sadly, the school went into administration in late 2015.  The History of Place Project will be focussing on advising on a long term repository for the archive and recruiting volunteers to help search it for stories.

The The Royal School for Deaf Children timeline

1792

England’s first public institution for deaf children known as ‘London Asylum for the Education of the Deaf and Dumb Children of the Poor’ was started in London in 1792.

1876

The School opens a branch in Margate and eventually moves its whole operation from London to the seaside town, so that residents can benefit from the fresh air. The School has an imposing redbrick building with turrets.

1950

The Gothic tower at the School used to be scaled by students, as a rite of passage, quite unknown to the staff.  They would leave their mark inside the tower.  One terrible night, in 1950 a student fell from the tower, trying to complete this challenge.  Even at this stage, no one knew the tower had been climbed by the students for this purpose until the old building was being dismantled, the tower was taken down and their graffiti was found inside it.